top of page

Acerca de

DU photo 1.png




BUCS Champions: 1951 , 55 , 65 , 69 , 81 , 82 , 83 , 87 , 2004 , 11 , 13, 19, 21

BUCS 7s Champions: 2011, 12, 18, 21

BUCS 7s Trophy Champions: 2018

North Prem A: 2011, 2012, 2013

North Prem B: 2013 

North 2B: 2014, 21

North 3B: 2014, 15, 21

Durham University Rugby Football Club (founded 1875) is one of the oldest sporting clubs in the University, dating back to the foundation of the University in 1832, and has a proud tradition, with many successes in the UAU, BUSA and BUCS competitions.


Many international players have come through DURFC including England captains Phil de Glanville and Will Carling to name but a few.


Since their separation from Newcastle in 1963, thirty-five Durham players have won international honours. In recent times Durham Alumni, Will Greenwood, Tim Stimpson, Duncan Hodge, David Walder and Charlie Hodgson have all represented their countries. Three Durham players have also captained England and five have played for the Lions


Durham University Rugby Club continue to develop more “starting” Premiership players than any other Academic University - Josh Beaumont ( Captain 2012-13) – Sale Sharks and Simon Hammersley ( Captain 2013-14 ) – Newcastle Falcons  are now regular players in the Premiership who have very recently gained a degree whilst studying and playing at Durham

This trend has continued for Durham with players such as Fitz Harding, Fred Davies ( Captain 2021-22) and Ewan Murphy (Captain 2022-23) earning themselves professional contracts alongside Jamie Adamson who has gone on to represent GB 7's.



Character - Integrity - Purpose - Humility - Pride

bottom of page